關愛村

Sky and Sea
關愛村

“關愛村” 是華府地區關註華裔身心健康的三個社區團體(泛亞義務門診部、蒙郡華人家長會和馬里蘭大學美國亞裔研究項目)於2019年發起的社區公益項目。該項目的主旨是提供公益講座、社區資源推薦和其他必要的直接服務,為有需要的華裔家庭提供幫助,排憂解難。

大愛無疆,華府有愛:“關愛村”系列活動簡介
caring village_1
caring village_1

press to zoom
caring village_2
caring village_2

press to zoom
caring village_6
caring village_6

press to zoom
caring village_1
caring village_1

press to zoom
1/6

關愛村的第一個活動於2019年3月9日下午6點30分,在美京華人活動中心音樂廳,舉辦“關愛村:特殊教育的社區資源”講座。該講座將會分享失聰的舞蹈者蔣馨柔的成長故事。我們請來多位蒙郡學校系統特殊教育部門和心理輔導服務的負責人,以及蒙郡多家為特殊需要孩子提供服務的機構負責人,介紹學校和社區的資源。歡迎希望了解這方面信息的社區居民參加我們的活動。

西方有句話:養育一個孩子,需要一整個村莊的齊心合力(It takes a village to raise a child)。  養育一個“平常”的孩子,尚且需要一個村莊。養育一個有特別的天份,但是“不按常理出牌”、有特殊需要或者需要“個性化”照顧的孩子,除了家庭需要付出更多的努力,更是有賴社區、學校和社區團體的共同努力。

 

 “關愛村”的緣起,是一位退休的工程師李老師(化名),找到泛亞義務門診的“健康360項目”,希望給自閉症和需要特殊照顧的孩子的家庭一些幫助。李老師自己孩子小時候,曾經有口吃的狀況。作為受過高等教育父母,當時也不了解公立學校的特殊教育。多年來,對學校提供的特殊教育(Individualized Education Program)安排,從一開始的抗拒,到後來慢慢了解,成為主導自己孩子教育的倡議人(advocate)。李老師孩子 Eric(化名)接受有IEP規定的語言訓練服務。Eric在正常學校上課,除了平常的學業課程外,每週固定的時間,學校會派語言培訓的專家給Eric提供個人專門培訓。每年,家長、學校負責人和語言專家會開IEP會重新審查,根據孩子的進度和需要,決定孩子未來一學年的需要。Eric 慢慢長大,在各方努力下,他口吃的情況慢慢就消失。他從高中開始,就不再需要IEP服務了,後來考上很好的大學。這一段經歷,讓李老師感受到美國教育的人性化。多年來,李老師也利用業餘時間,長期義務輔導一個智力有挑戰的孩子,和他的家庭幫助他們了解學校和社會的資源,利用現有的資源,發揮孩子最大的潛力。李老師希望可以團結更多的社會有心人,能抽出更多的時間,來幫助有需要的家庭和孩子。

 

美京華人活動中心的泛亞義務門診,從2015年推出“心理健康360”公益項目。該項目由數位社區醫生、精神科醫生和心理健康專業人員發起,通過舉辦講座、徵文普及心理健康的重要性。通過直接的心理健康諮詢服務和義務精神科醫生的服務,以及相關服務的轉介服務,為有需要的人解決燃眉之急。從2016年開始,心理健康360項目聯同蒙郡家長協會、馬里蘭大學亞裔美國人研究項目共同舉辦多個關於青少年情緒健康的公眾講座以及系列親子講座,關注移民家庭的代際溝通問題。今年,三個機構共同建立“關愛村”平台,繼續為華裔社區的共同需求,提供服務,共同努力營造一個健康快樂的社區。

社區討論:輔導有特殊需求的孩童
Dr. Sarah Dababnah
Dr. Sarah Dababnah

press to zoom
Introducing Special Olympics
Introducing Special Olympics

press to zoom
Big Brother Big Sister Club
Big Brother Big Sister Club

press to zoom
Dr. Sarah Dababnah
Dr. Sarah Dababnah

press to zoom
1/5
2.15.2020 關愛村講座:父母如何教導有特殊需要的孩子

2020年2月15日,關愛村項目在美京華人中心舉行《社區對話:父母如何教導有特殊需要的孩子》的活動。這次活動上,我們邀請到馬里蘭大學社工系的 Sarah Dababnah 助理教授,講述照顧特殊兒童的信息,為家長出謀劃策。Dababnah 教授正在做關於亞裔家庭裏,在養育接受特殊教育孩子的各種負擔以及相應的社會資源的利用情況。我們也邀請到社區裏服務機構的專業人員,包括兒童精神科醫生、治療中心的語言專家、心理治療師等專業人員,以及社區誌願者,參與社區對話,分享他們與有特殊需要的兒童工作的心得。

 

本次活動,雖然受國內新冠病毒疫情帶來的恐慌心理影響,實際參加的人數沒有報名的多。但是還是有十幾個家庭參與講座。根據參加者的回饋意見,大家非常感激關愛村提供這樣一個信息交流的機會。希望關愛村可以繼續組織相關的講座,提供後續的服務,例如,關於個人化教育提案(IEP)的輔導,為家庭提供喘息機會的臨時照護服務,以及“大哥哥大姐姐關愛部”等項目。


 

​感謝亞裔健康聯盟(AAHI) 提供經費贊助,以及家長會的大哥哥大姐姐們為本活動提供孩子托管服務。

參與關愛村

我們希望能繼續幫助有特殊需求的家庭,而目前需要義工:

  • 大哥哥大姊姊 (Big Brother Big Sister Club):招高中生

  • 翻譯者-陪伴家長參加校內會議和其他的預約

The Village Initiative

Sky and Sea
The Village Initiative

The Village Initiative is a continued joint effort of three non-profit community organizations:

  • CCACC-Mental Health 360

  • Chinese American Parent Association (CAPA)

  • Asian American Study at the University of Maryland (AAST)

The Village Initiative aims to promote the overall well-being of our community by providing education, resource referrals, and other necessary resources for community members in need.

Love Has No Boundaries: The Caring Village Introduction
caring village_1
caring village_1

caring village_2
caring village_2

caring village_6
caring village_6

caring village_1
caring village_1

1/6

The Village Initiative’s first activity took place on March 9, 2019, at CCACC, hosting a seminar on caring for special needs children. This seminar shared the story of a deaf dancer and her experience growing up. We also invited MCPS’s Special Education program experts, mental health consultants, and organizations focused on helping families with special needs children to introduce school resources.

There is a saying that “it takes a village to raise a child”. If raising the “average” child takes a village, how much more does it take to raise a child with special needs, a child who requires individualized attention? The amount of care their family can provide is not sufficient; the community, school system, and local organizations also need to come together to meet the child’s needs. 

 

“The Caring Village” came about when Mr. Lee (alias) found out about PAVHC’s Mental Health 360 Program and hoped to help special needs children and their family through this program. Mr. Lee’s son had a stutter as a kid. As the parent of a special need’s child, he understands the difficulties of caring for such a child. At the time, he didn’t understand the special education program within the public school system and was even somewhat against the Individualized Education Program (IEP). However, after he started to understand the program, he slowly turned into an advocate. Mr. Lee’s son, Eric (alias), participated in speech training under IEP; every week the school would have a speech therapist work with Eric. Eric’s parents, the school, and the speech therapist would have an annual IEP meeting discussing Eric’s progress to determine how to meet his needs in the future. Through his hard work and the integrated efforts of his family and school, his stutter slowly disappeared. Beginning in high school, he no longer needed to participate in IEP and was even able to be admitted into a prestigious university. This experience allowed Mr. Lee to witness the humanization of America’s education system. Over the years, Mr. Lee has dedicated his free time to helping a child with special needs, helping his family understand available community and school resources that can help their child reach his full potential. Mr. Lee hopes to unite community efforts to help children with special needs and their families.

 

The Mental Health 360 Program began in 2015 with the efforts of local doctors and psychiatrists. The program has raised awareness on mental health through seminars and essay contests. It has helped those in dire situations by providing consultations, referrals, and other services. In 2016, the program worked with CAPA-MC and the University of Maryland’s AAST to host discussions about intergenerational conflicts among immigrant families. These three organizations continue to serve the needs to the Asian American community through the Village Initiative, hoping to build a healthier and brighter future.

Community Conversations: Parenting Children with Special Needs
Dr. Sarah Dababnah
Dr. Sarah Dababnah

Introducing Special Olympics
Introducing Special Olympics

Big Brother Big Sister Club
Big Brother Big Sister Club

Dr. Sarah Dababnah
Dr. Sarah Dababnah

1/5
2.15.2020 Community Conversation

On February 15, 2020, We invited Dr. Sarah Dababnah, Assistant Professor at University of Maryland, School of Social Work, to provide a presentation on parenting children with special needs. Dr. Dababnah introduced her study on the care-giving burdens of Asian families. In this event, we also invited professional service providers, including pediatric psychiatrists, speech therapists, and researchers from UMD and Special Olympic to introduce available services. About 15 families with special needs children joined our discussion. 

Volunteer to Join the Village

We intended to provide continue supports to families with special needs. Volunteers are needed for following services:

  • Big Brother Big Sister Club: high school students

  • Interpreters to accompany parents to school meetings and important treatment appointments

  • Child care provider

  • Others