同心協力:泛亞的故事

泛亞義務門診是因看到需要幫助的人而創立。始而有一位中心常青社的會員,因為剛移民而沒保險,無法去看醫生。來美國前,他在中國動手術去除腎瘤,因此他擔心自己的身體狀況。當常青社的主管得知這位先生的情況,她聚集一群義工討論解決辦法並發現蒙郡有很多為低收入及沒保險者提供醫療服務的機構。透過中心的幫助,那位先生得到所需的醫療服務。

經過這個案例,美京華人活動中心發覺有很多亞裔居民也遭遇到類似的困境。為此,中心成立一個醫療服務的團體,專門舉辦醫療健康展覽、講座、提倡以及宣傳如何獲得免費或低費用的醫療服務。他們不只很受歡迎,還引起 Primary Care Coalition (PCC) 的支持。受到這樣的注目讓中心考慮把這個小團體發展為診所,一間雇用會說華語的醫療人員,為了服務華人社區。


為了實現這個想法,中心負責籌備的小組,由史維國博士來帶領這個小組。成員有張凌、李孟光、Annie Chien、Cecilia Tsang、Daniel Hsu、Yao Hui Wong、Lisa Lee 和 Catherine Tseng。中心也邀請張孟琪來當顧問,幫忙協調診所與政府之間的合作。但在診所能順利成立前還面臨兩個阻礙。

首先,診所需要一位主治醫生,而我很榮幸能被邀請。

其次,診所缺乏足夠的經驗及資源。幸虧 PCC 的執行董事Steven Galen 幫忙安排 MobileMed,一間有 35 年操作移動式診所經驗的公司,來負責安利管理和病人的後續服務,而中心負責註冊和提供醫療服務。這樣的合作安排不只很成功且對兩者都有利。


當兩個大問題解決後,泛亞義務門診就開始迎接病人。雖然我很期待但我也領悟到只有一位醫生的困難,因此我邀請黃浩源博士和楊凌博士來幫忙,也得到他們的支持。

2002年9月17日,泛亞正式開幕,借用 Rockville Senior Center 的場地。Yipi Lin 和 Shirley Chen 是我第一個接觸到的病人,兩位都很高興能收到免費的醫療服務而且可以用自己熟悉的母語溝通。受到這樣的反應讓我很興奮也很開心能夠參與這個計畫。

原本,我們這三位醫師輪流看診,但當病人越來越多時,診所不得不擴大發展。2003年10月7日,泛亞搬到 2000 Dennis Ave,也固定在每週二下午看診。 此時,我們有很多熱心的職員和醫生,包括朱曜曜、Sharon Yang、羅迅妍、WeiXu、Mian Bei、XiaoMing Zhou、王冬梅、程秋芳、Changting Haudenschid、何傑、徐磊、鐘耀輝、Hanbo Zhang、Andrew Wong、邵曉平。護理長 Amy Lee 是位重要人物,負責安排病人的診斷、治療以及跟別的醫療診所的合作。當時的泛亞也有自己的藥局,而藥劑師有蘇幸枝、沈坤、Alice Wang、Sam Wu、Trang Tran 和 Mandy Kwong。感謝那些捐出自己的時間,透過自己的專長幫助泛亞發展的熱心義工們。

有了更大的設備、更多的人員,泛亞一年能診斷治療多餘 800 為病人,個個都屬於低收入沒保險的亞洲人,而若是沒有泛亞,很有可能就不會接收到治療。雖然焦點在華人,但服務是看放給所有需要幫助的人,包括越南人、柬普賽人等等。

2009年,中心董事長李孟光、保健福利部主張 Barbara Teng、泛亞主任 Wendy Shiau 和我推法讓泛亞成為獨立的診所並且優化資源配置。透過 PCC 和蒙郡政府的幫助,泛亞從 MobileMed 分拆而跟 Mercy Clinic 在 7-1 Metropolitan Court 共用空間。成為一間為沒保險、低收入者服務的獨立診所,泛亞在週五開放看診。

離開 MobileMed 代表我們不能再利用他們對於診所管理和病人後續服務的知識及經驗。同時,PCC 也停止提供補助金。藉由中心董事會的支持與泛亞主任 Wendy Shiau 和陸惠興的帶領,我們熬過泛亞以來最艱難的時段。

此刻,從泛亞創立至今已過 13 年了。當義工們同心協力地向一個目標走就發現時間過得真快。對很多人而言,泛亞的存在很奇妙,但對泛亞服務的病人而言,泛亞是一個溫暖安心的地方。

當我寫這封信時,中心正在改造泛亞,而大家也很期待看到未來會帶來什麼驚喜。

-周武屏醫師
泛亞義務門診前任主治醫師

CCACC 泛亞義務門診 (PAVHC)

9318 Gaither Road, Suite 205

Gaithersburg, MD 20877

請先預約,不接受未預約的病人。
病人是否合格要先透過篩檢。


詳情, 請聯絡我們

電話: 240-393-5950

電郵:panasianclinic@ccacc-dc.org

星期一至星期五 早上 9 點至下午 5 點

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube

聯絡我們

arrow&v

Copyright © 2020 CCACC

United, Past and Future: The Story of Pan Asian

Volunteers For the Health Fair
Volunteers For the Health Fair

press to zoom
Volunteer Physician
Volunteer Physician

press to zoom
Volunteers Group Photo
Volunteers Group Photo

press to zoom
Volunteers For the Health Fair
Volunteers For the Health Fair

press to zoom
1/4

Pan Asian doesn't trace its origins to a committee or a focus group or a commissioned study. Instead, it arose from a problem.

This problem was afflicting one of the elderly male residents being served by the CCACC Evergreen Senior Center, in September, 2009. The man had been operated on for a kidney tumor in China, before he'd emigrated to the US. Like most new immigrants, he lacked health insurance, and he couldn't afford to see a doctor to check up on his condition. This naturally made him worried and very anxious.

When the director of Evergreen, Ling Cheung, learned about his situation, she collected a group of spirited volunteers in order to make inquiries. They quickly discovered that Montgomery County had many organizations providing free medical care to uninsured and low-income recipients. With their help, the elderly man was able to get the care he needed.

This incident indicated there was a need in the Chinese community for this kind of service, and CCACC therefore established a health care group. This group conducted health fairs, held talks, performed community outreach and advocacy, and explored and publicized ways to get free or low-cost health care. These activities drew an enthusiastic response and attracted the support of Primary Care Coalition (PCC). This inspired Ms. Cheung to consider expanding the health care group into a full-service clinic, staffed by Chinese-speaking volunteer physicians and RNs, to serve the Chinese community.

To achieve this dream, a preparatory group was formed. Dr. James Shih, who had supervised a Hepatitis research lab at NIH, was invited to lead it, and other members included Ms. Cheung, M. K. Lee, Annie Chien, Cecilia Tsang, Daniel Hsu, Yao Hui Wong, Lisa Lee, and Catherine Tseng. Dr. Alan Cheung, a pioneering figure in the Asian American community, was brought on as a consultant and was of great help in coordinating the group's activities with county government health care agencies. However, there were two major obstacles.

First, the clinic needed a resident physician. It was then that I had the honor of being invited to volunteer.

Second, the clinic didn't have the experience or resources to operate on its own. Fortunately, Steve Galen, the Executive Director of PCC, stepped in and arranged for MobileMed (which had 35 years' experience running mobile clinics) to handle case management and patient follow-up services while CCACC handled patient care and registrations. This arrangement benefited both organizations and proved to be a success.

Once these problems were solved, the Pan Asian Volunteer Health Clinic was ready to start receiving patients.

Although I was eager to get started, I realized that being the only doctor at the clinic might be difficult. So I called Drs. Hon-yuen Wong and Ling Yang to see if they could help out, and both promised their full support.

On September 17, 2002, the clinic had its inaugural opening, at its temporary home in the Rockville Senior Center. My first two patients were Yipi Lin and Shirley Chen; both were very happy to be receiving free medical care while being able to communicate with us in their native language. This promising beginning made me feel very excited to be part of this health care effort.

Initially, we three doctors took turns staffing the clinic each month. However, as the number of patients and requested services increased, it became apparent that the clinic needed to expand. So, on October 7, 2003, we moved to a county-owned clinic at 2000 Dennis Ave and began serving patients every Tuesday afternoon.

By this time, our staff had greatly increased. We had many enthusiastic doctors helping out, including Yaoyao Zhu, Sharon Yang, Joan Luo, WeiXu、Mian Bei, XiaoMing Xhou、Dongmei Wang, Quifang Cheng, Changting Haudenschid, Jie He, Lei Xu, Jeffrey Chung, Hanbo Zhang, Andrew Wong, Xiaoping SHao, and others. Head Nurse Amy Lee was a central figure, responsible for managing patient treatments and exams within the clinic and with other health care organizations. We even had a pharmacy, staffed by Hsing-Chih Su, Kun Chen, Alice Wang, Sam Wu, Trang Tran, Mandy Kwong. Theresa Liu, Ms. Cheung, and others provided able management expertise, and our many enthusiastic volunteers helped out in innumerable ways.

Now with a bigger facility and more staff, Pan Asian was able to diagnose and treat over 800 patients a year, all of them uninsured, low-income Asians who probably would have gone untreated. Although our focus was on Chinese residents, we accepted all ethnicities, including Vietnamese, Cambodians, and so on.

In 2009, CCACC Chairman M.K. Lee, CCACC Health Division director Barbara Teng, Pan Asian director Wendy Shiau, and I launched an effort to make Pan Asian independent and optimize its use of resources. With help from PCC and the Montgomery County government, Pan Asian was spun off from MobileMed and began sharing space with Mercy Clinic, at 7-1 Metropolitan Court. We would now be open on Fridays, as an independent clinic serving uninsured and low-income residents.

Leaving MobileMed, however, cost us their experienced clinic administration and follow-up services. Around that time, PCC also terminated the grant that had been used to fund Pan Asian’s operations. This was a most difficult stage of Pan Asian's existence, and only the dedicated leadership of clinic directors Wendy Shiau and Kate Lu, plus the unqualified support of the CCACC board, pulled us through.

It's been 13 years since Pan Asian was founded. It's surprising how time passes when volunteers are working hard. To many, Pan Asian's existence may seem strange, but to its many patients, it's a warm, comforting place.

As I write this, CCACC is working on plans to redevelop Pan Asian, and everyone is excited and full of expectations over what the future will bring.

Dr. Moping Chow
former Medical Director, Pan Asian Volunteer Health Clinic.